When movies get a message across/Quando i film ti vogliono dire qualcosa

For no apparent reason (because life is made of sheer coincidence, isn’t it?) today was a strange day. When I watch a tv show or a film that I like I might occasionally go and look up authors, directors, actors in them and then, if I find that they have done something that attracts me, I might try and catch that film/tv show, whatever. So in the past year or so I have stored a few films I might want to see someday, especially those that I know my husband might not like (he doesn’t like artsy, black and white and/or movies he might consider vaguely depressing). I normally keep these movies for when I have work to do, so that when I finish an allotted batch of words I can reward myself with them. Normally however, when I work, it’s always rushing to a deadline in those few hours a day I get without teenagers and four-year-olds running around (mind you, the teenagers are awfully quite these days, the merits of videogames and laptops I guess. I sometimes look at them and remember how I was and I think “my poor mum”. But anyway I digress.) Yesterday, today… both strange days. Yesterday I decided not to enrol for a further term of my jewellery course, and instead gradually buy tools to make what I have learnt so far. Then, I wanted to try and read some blogs and do some writing, mostly to see how I could make myself write like I used to, in hopes one day to learn a more “disciplined” approach to writing.Today was supposed to be the day I was going to research for a future client how to get permission from a famous angler author to get his books translated… but I couldn’t focus. I distractedly picked Veronika decides to Die from my many many movies. I love Sarah Michelle Gellar, and I loved the book, but the combination of the two was odd to me. The book I had read many, many… MANY years ago. All I remembered was that actually, I felt good after reading it (I think Pablo Coelho is very pleasant) despite the horribly ominous title. The film was nice, the actors were good, the ending was interesting and it reminded me of how when I had those kind of “cinematic epiphanies” I would walk out of the cinema with my head high, breath in the deeply refreshing and slightly cementy London air, and walk into the new life I had decided to get into that day. I used to create “new lives” pretty regularly when I was young (Ah! I almost wrote “younger“… tricky me). After that, still not quite ready to do anything productive with my time, I decided to watch A Single Man, by glossy Tom Ford with very non-flamboyantly wonderful Colin Firth.
The ending of that also surprised me, though I won’t give it away. The actual subject matter surprised me too, which is why I won’t say anything here beyond the obvious, because you might want to be surprised too. All I know is that beloved Colin had won the Oscar for it, and that he was portraying a gay character. That’s all.Please do not go to the next page if you don’t want spoilers about the films.

 

Per nessuna ragione apparente (perché la vita è fatta di mere coincidenze, vero?) oggi è stato un giorno strano. Quando guardo una serie televisiva o un film che mi è piaciuto qualche volta vado a cercare qualche informazione sull’autore, regista, attore e poi, se vedo che hanno fatto qualcosa d’altro che attira la mia attenzione cerco di ottenere quei film/serie televisive, spesso roba che a mio marito non piacerà, e me le tengo per guardarmele come ricompensa dopo una giornata di grande lavoro. Normalmente, quando lavoro, è sempre di corsa verso una scadenza, durante quelle poche ore in cui non ci sono nè adolescentni nè quattrenni in casa (anche se a dir il vero, i miei adolescenti sono molto tranquilli, merito di videogiochi e computer suppongo… eppure quando li guardo ripenso a me stessa alla loro età e mi dico “la mia povera mamma…”Ma ieri, oggi, sono stati entrambi giorni strani. Ieri ho deciso di non continuare il corso di gioielleria, ma di fare da sola quello che ho imparato, man mano che avrò i soldi per comprare gli attrezzi. Poi ho passato la giornata cercando di leggere blog e di scrivere, per educarmi aun minimo di disciplina nello scrivere.Oggi doveva essere il giorno in cui avrei dovuto fare della ricerca per un futuro cliente per sapere come ottenere il permesso di un autore famoso di pesca per tradurre i suoi libri… ma non riuscivo a concentrarmi. Ho scelto distrattamente Veronika ha deciso di moriretra i miei molti film a disposizione. Amo Sarah Michelle Gellar, ed avevo amato il libro, ma la combinazione dei due mi incuriosiva. Il libro l’avevo letto molti, molti, MOLTI anni fa. Tutto ciò che ricordavo è che mi ero sentita bene dopo averlo letto, nonostante il titolo un po’ minaccioso.Il film era bellino, gli attori bravi, la fine era interessante e mi ricordò di quando avevo questo tipo di epifanie cinematografiche, uscivo dal cinema a testa alta, inspiravo profondamente l’aria rinfrescante e vagamente asfaltitica di Londra, e mi incamminavo verso la nuova vita che avrei ricreato quel giorno. Creavo “nuove vite” abbastanza regolarmente quando ero giovane (ack, stavo per scrivere più giovane… forza dell’abitudine). Dopo Veronika, ancora non pronta a fare nulla di produttivo, ho deciso di guardare A Single Man, diretto dal luccicante Tom Ford e con il compassato e meraviglioso Colin Firth.
Anche la fine di quest’ultimo mi sorprese, ma non voglio rovinarlo rivelandovela. Rimasi sorpresa anche dall’argomento principale, ed è per questo che non dirò qua niente che non sia ovvio, nel caso vogliate essere sorpresi anche voi. Tutto ciò che so è che il beneamato Colin ha vinto l’oscar per questo film, e che il personaggio principale che lui ritraeva era gay. Tutto qua.

Per favore non girate pagina se non volete accenni che vi possano rovinare i film.

 

Leave a comment