Quotes and songs – for La Sabrosona :)

So, there are often games and awards on this WordPress world, and I am quite bad at them. I do however know the spirit that is behind them, and it’s a good spirit.

I got invited to contribute by La Sabrosona, a delightful blogger who deals with mental health and her own lovely family, and she has no idea how much sunshine and fun she spreads out here methinks. Her blog is definitely worth following. Anyhow, thank you La Sabrosona, and this is the best I can do 🙂

The challenge:On this final day of the 3 Quotes, 3 Days Challenge I wanted to remind you all to keep a look out for the light or that which makes you feel lighter. Is it comedy? Music? Singing? Writing? Drawing? Cooking? Dancing? Teaching? Solving Math problems? Taking gadgets apart and fixing them? Making elaborate things out of dental floss and toothpicks? Whatever it is that puts a spring in your step, please do it. As long as it’s not interfering with others’ human rights, then what are you waiting for?I agree with the spirit, but as I can’t think of any quotes that speak of the many things that make me happy, and there are many indeed, and I certainly can’t commit to holding interest over something for three continuous days, I’ll go with beauty. Beauty makes me happy! So here are a few quotes that beautifully convey a certain feeling.One was brought to my attention by one of the commenters of the afore-mentioned blog (I am so sorry I can’t seem to find his/her comment anymore!):

“Sometimes things fall apart so that better things can fall together”

Marilyn Monroe

It made me instantly sad because though I agree completely with the concept, I thought about her and the countless other people who fell apart and for whom things better things didn’t fall together quickly enough.

Another quote that speaks to me by the truckload is from one of my favourite Radiohead songs (despite the fact that I still struggle to listen to it):

“There’s a gap in between
There’s a gap where we meet
Where I end and you begin”

This song was an obsessive loop for me for some time. That gap in between, that’s the place where I always want to be with people, where I feel most comfortable. I hate the divide, that gap, and yet that is what most people call “privacy” or, if you cross it, being “too up close and personal”.

As for the final quote, again I’m afraid it’s not cheery, but it is nonetheless very beautiful. It’s from the same artist and album “Hail to the thief” and I was reminded of it yesterday as I walked out of the counsellor’s office:

“We are accidents waiting
Waiting to happen”

The whole song should be quoted really but that’s the bit I thought about yesterday. That awareness, that I and all others are indeed accidents waiting to happen, makes me happy, because it is that thought, though many would find it macabre, that keeps me enthusiastic and loving and appreciative and intense about everything I do and share, and brings me out of sadness or dips in my mood on a constant basis. I have learnt to tone down my intensity for other people’s sake, but it’s still very much there, I can access it anytime. I just have learnt to try and keep mum about it a little more. We are only here for a tiny bit of time, and those around us or ourselves could suddenly not be there. Make every moment count.

6 thoughts on “Quotes and songs – for La Sabrosona :)

  1. Brava! I’m really touched you get “sunshine and fun” from my blog. You are a deep soul and passionate (not stereotypical Italian at all! *wink wink*) And I’m grateful to follow your life as it unfolds. I learn lots over here in Blunderland 🙂 Thank you for taking on the challenge.

    Love Radiohead as well. Ahhh the gap. That gap. I want to be close to people but end up pushing them away for some reason or other.

    Don’t take this the wrong way, but your writing has become so much clearer now that you are much clearer on what’s going on with your mental health. It’s truly amazing to see and be a part of xx

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I am so grateful that you are. And I believe you are right and my friend who’s known me (and read me) for years agrees, I feel it too. Thank you for being part of that journey.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

