Ten Bad Ways to Treat a Friend with Dissociative Identity Disorder

This is a must-read. I don’t know many people with DID, but I feel what is in here applies to how you deal with any person suffering from a neurobiological or mental health disorder. I myself wish I’d read something like this back in the days when I had no idea what was going on with me, but had friends with such problems. Incredibly true and useful. Please go through to original poster for comments and feedback too.

Art by Rob Goldstein

You say you dearly love someone who has Dissociative Identity Disorder.

Here are ten actions to avoid.

I base this information on my experience of DID and the problems I have met in my attempts to have friendships with other people.

This list may not apply to everyone with DID.

1. Do not condescend. Condescension is not love and I notice it in a flash. One of the best lines I have ever heard sums this up humorously: I’m mental, not stupid.

2. If you know what the triggers are, don’t mess with them. Your friend’s mind is not a toy or a private freak show.

3. If your friend is triggered and tells you that he needs a time out; don’t take it personally. I call a time out when I feel overwhelmed and confused. It is my way of protecting my friendships. Don’t take it personally and…

View original post 338 more words

One thought on “Ten Bad Ways to Treat a Friend with Dissociative Identity Disorder

  1. These are pretty good ideas for almost all mental health concerns, and is pretty applicable to health concerns, period. A little empathy, a little common sense, a little education.

    Like

Leave a Reply

