NaNoWriMo… wha?

(Italiano sotto)

So, apparently NaNoWriMo had been introduced to me by friend Toby a while back, but being as I was drowning under too many translations I ignored it. A number of circumstances contributed to me signing up for it this year.

I am itching to start.

So I have a skimpy idea thanks to my son Dylan, and a character, R. came up in my mind. His name rhymes with something, he’s 15, and the story will be about the house he inhabits and the people and events that come through it.

There are support forums, support meet-ups, support write-ins.

It always amazes me how people, even shy people, go along to, say optional company organised events, meet-ups and stuff like that. It always makes me think: I am supposed to be the extrovert, and yet I am terrified at the idea of sharing anything with anybody I don’t know.

The people on the Facebook page for Cambridge actually seem delightful and I’m sure I’ll work up the nerve eventually (although probably not enough money, sadly) to join them and find out if there is anyone else who, like me, is over 40.

I am thrilled, and delighted. I have had to re-open my self-employment registration, and this time, I put in Literary Translator. And writer, if I manage to complete this challenge

Quindi, a quanto pare l’amico Toby mi aveva presentato NaNoWriMo qualche tempo fa, ma nel mio naufragare in mezzo ad eccessive traduzioni l’avevo chiaramente ignorato. Un numero di circostanze ha contribuito perché io mi ci iscrivessi quest’anno.

Non vedo l’ora di iniziare.

Quindi, ho un’ideuccia grazie a mio figlio Dylan, e mi è venuto in mente un personaggio, R., con cosa fa rima il suo nome, e la sua età (15 anni). La sua storia sarà ambientata nella casa in cui abita, e gli eventi e le persone che l’attraversano.

Ci sono forum di supporto, incontri di supporto, e incontri di scrittura di supporto.

Mi sorprende sempre come la gente, anche quella timida, riesca ad andare a questi eventi volontari organizzati dalle aziende, questi incontri e cose del genere. Mi fa sempre pensare: ma sono io che dovrei essere l’estroversa, no? Eppure mi terrorizza l’idea di andare a condividere qualsiasi cosa con chiunque io non conosca.

La gente sulla Pagina Facebook per Cambridge sembra molto carina e sono sicura che prima o poi avrò il coraggio (anche se probabilmente non i soldi, sigh) di raggiungerli e scoprire se c’è qualcun altro lì dentro che supera i 40 anni.

Sono elettrizzata, e contentissima. Ho dovuto riaprire il mio stato di Libera Professionista e questa volta ho messo Traduttore Letterario. E scrittrice, se riesco a portare a termine questa sfida. 🙂

5 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo… wha?

  1. Introvert here, and I’m going to a NaNo Pep Rally tonight. I think I will know 1 person, if she shows up. But last year I did the kick-off party knowing no one, and a couple of write ins (also solo) and it’s amazing how long people can talk about NaNo! Wrimos are a great breed, I’ve discovered. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

