Settling the wind

(IT: più giù)

And with a master stroke, the whole picture is complete. Like that final brush stroke on a masterpiece of a painting, I take a step back and look at it and think yes, it is done.

The master stroke in question is given by none other than Master Murakami himself (through a tweet, and I can’t be sure it’s him tweeting, but hopefully the quote will be original at least. If it’s not him, it still sounds beautiful):

風について考えるというのは、誰にでもできるわけではないし、いつでもどこでもできるわけではない。人がほんとうに風について考えられるのは、人生の中のほんの一時期のことなのだ。そういう気がする。

I have no idea what this says. And that makes all the languages I know feel completely useless and worthless. However, a Facebook friend responds to my desperate request, and it more or less translates so (I translate from his Italian): Thinking about the wind is not something anyone does/is not for everyone. It is something that almost never happens. I believe it is something that happens only once in a lifetime. (Or, other nuances): It gives me the idea of being something that happens only once in life (though this datum is not necessarily objective)

So frustrating. I can perceive in there such poetry. But I am grateful to my Facebook friend for at least this.

Regardless, stop faffing about, /me, the point.

Anyone who knows me knows I am fairly obsessed with wind. I loved Chocolat for the concept that when a certain kind of wind blew they just had to move on. I also loved the idea of her choosing to stop for the sake of her child, and always hoped I could do the same, but secretly didn’t want to. Didn’t want to stop being transported by it, ruffled by it, immersed in it, shaken by it. Well I am trying now. Now begins the time of surrendering.

I have spent all my social life (so from 12 onwards) trying so hard to tell people who I was, or more importantly who I WASN’T. It has been such an enormous struggle, and I’m not sure many will understand. Most of us have something they believe is themselves, and they try and go about life just being them… ah there it goes, it starts again, trying to explain, who I am, and who I’m not.

I choose to give up the fight. The things that started a few years back, and slowly have been piecing together the puzzle, they started perhaps when I married: that was the time when, according to my step-mum, I should now put my friends aside, they would stop being so important, and I should focus only and solely on my husband. I’m not sure how many of you can understand how that felt to me. What a stabbing it was, and I was in my wedding dress, how could I go back? How could I say NO THAT’S NOT WHAT GETTING MARRIED MEANS TO ME, WAIT!!! I carried on with all the motions, and as I do, or did, or will try not to do so much, I kept thinking about this. I kept thinking shall I run? Is it too late?

I got beaten up by life for not wanting to fit a picture they painted of me. ANY picture. But more than anything else, I had made a deliberate choice, before deciding I was ready to have a baby: I would show the world I could be me, and have wonderful, amazing children anyway. Because I believe in human nature, I believe that as long as it is given love, water and food, and warmth, it will flourish. Love being the main ingredient. My boys growing up made me so proud. Some people like to say they grew up amazing DESPITE me, or to survive ME. But deep inside the gummy walls of my constant self-questioning, I know they are amazing because they were loved, and allowed to be exactly who they chose to be. I felt victorious but at a certain point felt ok now what? Is it my turn now? Shall I do something that is mine, for myself, I, I, I. I was being put on the side. I was being lovingly placed in a golden cage. I was surrounded by love, but I was nevertheless surrounded. “I was a swallow! You couldn’t cage me or I’d die, remember? REMEMBER?” I’d yell, from inside my cage of love. But less and less people listened. More and more people insisted in seeing me as that new, peaceful, beloved me. YOU SHOULD BE HAPPY NOW. They’d tell me. And I would bow my head for a while, and say you’re right, you’re right, you’re right. I am ungrateful… and yet I knew I wasn’t. I am very, very aware. Hyper-aware. Of black and white and rose and black and grey and green and shades and nuances. I am aware of beauty and soul and senses and love and hate and passion. I was NEVER ungrateful.
But shouting against an increasingly padded wall of love is no use. Banging my head and my body against it trying to find a way out, trying to fly or even find a direction to fly to… I have lost my east and my west, my south and my north, I have lost the stars that twinkled in the wind, and stirred me here and there and then back again, and everywhere. I have stopped banging against places like a spinning top, when I used to be a tornado, the Levante wind, the happy breeze that would fool you into thoughts of merry warm spring, just before I’d turn and become the roaring wind from the moors, and rip over you and move on to somewhere else.

Yes. I have stopped. Or rather. Today is the day I do my best to stop. Faces look out to me, faces I adore, and they say please, stay. Calm. Please mellow. Just love us. Look after us.

It’s not right to be thinking of the wind every day. It’s not right to let the wind ruffle your thoughts and your soul even deeper, every day. Not every day, not every moment.

So, I surrender: I will become a wife. And I will become a mother. I will learn to clean the house, and I will allow more than 20 minutes to make a meal. I will see my friends when my friends deem it appropriate, and in the way they deem appropriate. I will say yes, and thank you, and I’ll try, more often. I will work in my free time, to contribute to the family expenses, as much as possible. I leave money in the hands of my more cautious husband. Maybe one day we’ll have enough money for me to start a hobby, perhaps learn Japanese, perhaps I will paint with what tools I have at home, if time allows. I do like painting, though I am completely, completely bad at it. But until I don’t, I won’t think about it. I may need to keep on writing.

So: wife, mother, housekeeper and cook, translator in free time, accepting friend, pet carer. Nothing else, and everything else must go. My mind’s turmoil has to end somewhere, and as this condition hasn’t been diagnosed, I can only make up the treatment myself.

This is my cure: surrendering. Deliberately narrowing down the pathways my mind chooses. Allowing all thoughts to come in and move out, unattended, if they do not enter one of those categories of concern. I will ignore my constant perception of the wind. I will stop detailing its movements, and strength, to myself on a constant basis. I should probably stop listening to music too, as I am too highly sensitive to it, but I think that would probably kill my soul, or at least that physical part of me that hurts so much and so easily and which swells with happiness and excitement too. It feels like a soul, so for want of a better definition, that is how I’ll call it. I’d like to keep that fit.

Perhaps if I succeed in surrendering, one day I may find directions, outlets, that are acceptable, and fulfilling, and I will have found a corridor to direct the wind into, and find calm within its constant, unequivocal flow.

One day I may be able to complete a post with the picture I will have painted, to convey what I see. Or not.

(IT)

E con un colpo d’autore, tutta l’ijmmagine è completa. Come quel colpo di pennello finale che finisce un capolavoro di pittura faccio un passo indietro e penso si, è fatto.

Il colpo d’autore in questo caso è dato nientedimeno che da Maestro Murakami in persona (attraverso un tweet,  e non sono sicurissima che sia lui a twittare, ma spero almeno che la citazione sia originale, ma anche non lo fosse suona comunque bellisima):

風について考えるというのは、誰にでもできるわけではないし、いつでもどこでもできるわけではない。人がほんとうに風について考えられるのは、人生の中のほんの一時期のことなのだ。そういう気がする。

Non ho idea di cosa dica. E questo rende tutte le lingue che conosco inutili e senza alcun valore. Però, un amico di Facebook viene al mio soccorso, e mi dice che più o meno si traduce così:
Pensare al vento non è cosa da tutti. è una cosa che non accade quasi mai. credo sia qualcosa che capita una sola volta nella vita (grossomodo). (Oppure, sfumature:) “mi dà l’idea di qualcosa che accade una sola volta nella vita” (senza che questo dato sia necessariamente oggettivo)

E’ così frustrante. Percepisco una tale poesia lì dentro. Ma sono grata al mio amico di Facebook per almeno questo.

In ogni caso, basta cazzeggiare, /me, arriviamo al punto.

Chiunque mi conosca sa che sono abbastanza ossessionata dal vento. Avevo amato Chocolat per il concetto che quando soffiava un certo tipo di vento, loro non potevano fare a meno di spostarsi. Amavo amato anche l’idea che lei scegliesse di fermarsi per il bene di sua figlia, e avevo sempre sperato di poter fare lo stesso, ma segretamente non volevo. Non volevo smettere di farmi trasportare dal vento, di essere scompigliata da lui, immersa, scossa. Beh sto provandoci ora. Ora inizia il momento dell’arresa.

Ho passato l’intera mia vita sociale (quindi dai 12 in su) a cercare di dire alla gente chi ero, o, meglio, chi NON ERO. E’ stata una tale lotta, e non sono certa quanti lo capiranno. La maggior parte di noi ha qualcosa che crede sia sé stesso/a, e fanno il meglio che possono per attraversare la vita come sono…. ah ma rieccoci, ricomincia, il tentativo di spiegare, chi sono, e chi non sono.

Scelgo di smettere di lottare. Le cose che sono iniziate qualche anno fa, e che pian piano hanno contribuito a completare il puzzle, forse sono iniziate quando mi sono sposata: quella è stata la volta che la mia step-mamma mi disse ok, d’ora in avanti i tuoi amici non significheranno più nulla, li metterai da parte, e ti concentrerai solo su tuo marito. Non so quanti di voi possano capire come questo mi fece sentire. Che pugnalata. Ed ero nel mio vestito da sposa, come potevo tornare idietro? Come potevo dire NO NON E’ QUELLO CHE SPOSARSI SIGNIFICA PER ME, ASPETTA!!! Ho continuato con tutte le movenze, e come faccio, o facevo, o cercherò di fare meno, intanto continuavo a pensare a questo. Continuavo a pensare scappo? E’ troppo tardi?

Sono stata menata dalla vita perché non volevo corrispondere all’immagine che avevano di me. QUALSIASI immagine. Ma più di qualsiasi altra cosa, avevo fatto una scelta deliberata, prima di decidere di avere un figlio: mostrerò al mondo che posso essere me, ed avere comunque del bambini meravigliosi, incredibili. Perché credo nella natura umana, e credo che finché le venga data amore, nutrimento, e calore,  fiorirà rigogliosa. L’amore è il componente principale. I miei ragazzi che crescevano mi rendevano così orgogliosa. A qualcuno piaceva dire che sono cresciuti incredibili NONOSTANTE me, o per sopravvivere a ME. Ma da qualche parte dietro le gommose pareti della mia costante messa in dubbio di me stessa, io sapevo che sono incredibili perché sono stati amati, e perché è stato permesso loro di diventare esattamente chi volevano diventare. Mi sentivo vittoriosa ma a un certo punto ho iniziato a pensare ok adesso cosa? Tocca a me ora? Dovrei fare qualcosa che è mio, per me stessa, io, io, io. Io stavo venendo messa da parte. Mi si stava costruendo una gabbia amorosa e dorata intorno. Ero circondata d’amore, ma ero comunque circondata. “Ero una rondine! Non potevi ingabbiarmi o sarei morta, ricordate? RICORDATE?” urlavo, dall’interno della mia gabbia d’amore. Ma sempre meno persone ascoltavano. Sempre più persone insistevano a vedermi come questa nuova me, amata, pacifica. DOVRESTI ESSERE FELICE ORA. Mi dicevano. E io chinavo la testa per un po’, e dicevo avete ragione, avete ragione, avete ragione. Sono ingrata… e invece sapevo di non esserlo. Io sono molto, molto consapevole. Io sono ULTRA-consapevole. Del nero del bianco, del rosa e del grigio e del verde e dei toni e delle sfumature. Sono consapevole della bellezza e dell’anima e dei sensi e dell’amore e dell’odio e della passione. Non sono MAI stata ingrata.
Ma urlare contro una parete sempre più imbottita d’amore è inutile. Sbattere la testa e il corpo contro di essa per cercare di trovare una via d’uscita, cercare di volare o persino trovare una direzione verso cui volare… ho perso il mio est e il mio ovest, il mio sud e il mio nord, ho perso le stelle che luccicavano nel vento e che mi dirigevano di qua o di là e poi indietro ancora, e ovunque. Ho smesso di sbattere contro i posti come una trottola, che prima era un tornado, il vento del Levante, la felice brezza che ti incantava con pensieri di calda e felice primavera, appena prima di girarsi e diventare un vento feroce dei moors, che stracciava sopra di te e se ne andava da qualche altra parte.

Si, ho smesso. O meglio. Oggi è il giorno che farò del mio meglio per smettere. Dei volti mi guardano, volti che adoro, e mi dicono per favore, resta. Sii calma. Per favore addolcisciti. Amaci e basta. Curati di noi.

Non è giusto pensare al vento tutti i giorni. Non è giusto permettere al vento di scompigliare i tuoi pensieri e la tua anima sempre profondamente, tutti i giorni. Non ogni giorno, non ogni momento.

Quindi, mi arrendo: diventerò moglie. E diventerò madre. Imparerò a pulire la casa, e mi concederò più di 20 minuti per fare qualcosa da mangiare. Vedrò i miei amici quando i miei amici lo riterranno opportuno, e nel modo che loro riterranno opportuno. Dirò di sì, e grazie, e ci proverò, più spesso. Lavorerò nel mio tempo libero, per contribuire alle spese di famiglia, più possibile. Lascerò la gestione dei soldi in mano al mio più cauto marito. Forse un giorno avremo abbastanza soldi perché io possa iniziare un hobby, magari imparare il giapponese, magari dipingerò con gli strumenti che ho in casa, se il tempo lo concederà. Mi piace dipingere, anche se sono completamente, completamente pessima a farlo. Ma finché non lo farò, non ci penserò. Potrei dover continuare a scrivere.

Quindi: moglie, madre, casalinga e cuoca, traduttrice nel tempo libero, amica conciliante, curatrice dei miei animali. Nient’altro, e tutto il resto deve andare. Il tumulto della mia mente deve finire prima o poi, e dal momento che questa condizione non è stata diagnosticata, posso solo inventare io la cura.

Questa è la mia cura: arrendermi. deliberatamente riducendo i percorsi che la mia mente sceglie. Permettere a tutti i pensieri di entrare ed uscire, senza prestare loro attenzione, se non rientrano in una di quelle categorie di occupazione. Ignorerò la mia costante percezione del vento. Smetterò di dettagliare i suoi movimenti, la sua forza, a me stessa in maniera continuativa. Dovrei forse smettere anche di ascoltare musica, visto quanto sono sensibile ad essa, ma credo ciò potrebbe uccidere la mia anima, o almeno quella parte fisica di me che fa così male così facilmente e che si gonfia di felicità ed emozione. La sento come un’anima, quindi siccome non ho una definizione migliore, la chiamerò così. Vorrei tenerla allenata.

Forse se avrò successo ad arrendermi, un giorno potrei trovare direzione, vie d’uscita, che sono accettabili, e che soddisfino, e avrò trovato un corridoi in cui dirigere il vento, e troverò la calma nel mezzo del suo costante ed inequivocabile flusso.

Un giorno potrei riuscire a completare un post con il dipinto che avrò fatto, per condividere ciò che vedo. Oppure no.

Leave a Reply

