A Chest of Memories Past/Un Baule di Ricordi

How odd is it, that I had been waiting for this moment since 2006, eagerly and with progressively less hope, and now that it has finally arrived, I’m not getting around to enjoying it?
All my life has been travelling and moving from country to continent to region. As can be understandable, I have learnt to do without “prized possessions”.
Everything has always gotten lost in moving, left regretfully and deliberately behind, or, in the better cases, given away to someone who would then appreciate having them.
I can count the things I really cared about, and can tell you exactly what happened to them.

  • A green stone idol, with us since South America (probably Guatemalan) and therefore my early life, was accidentally broken by my current husband in 2005.
  • A green Jade tiki, an Aztec onyx chessboard, a huge piece of amethyst and various other more “precious and valuable” items that I had always had around me were picked up by my sister-in-law after my mum died.
  • Peruvian Blankets, Tapestries and other items form all over the world ended up at my sister’s. (These two had a “fixed abode”.)
  • The Mah-Jong, originally bought in China in the Seventies, stayed with me. It is here with me now, in Cambridge.
  • A set of gorgeous silver Indian jewellery was lost, or broken, except for 1 necklace I gave to my friend Daisy, it looked so perfect on her.
  • A set of diaries, notes and letters that were my whole life were thrown away by my brother, when he cleared out the garage, when I was 17. That was not a happy moment.
  • All my tapes, three black bin bags of them, were methodically destroyed by my ex-husband.

When we moved out of our house in Italy to come to the UK, we left pretty much anything we had in there behind. Any books we collected, board games, even handmade furniture from the Philippines.

However, throughout my whole life, there was one item I never ever wanted to be separated from (together with the Mah-Jong set), and that was an ornate wooden chest, purchased by my parents in the Seventies in India or China, which up to the early 90s still smelled of the spices it used to contain. I encouraged that scent by keeping my most precious things: my friends’ letters, pictures, any diaries I had had the courage to start again, tarot cards and incense.

It was the one uncomfortable and bulky item I always dragged along with me, no matter where I moved to. It was my box of treasures, even though it had a moment of life as a shoe container.

My husbands’ friends in Italy were so very very kind… I had asked for it to be sent at my expense, but it was taking a while: I do understand it is a nuisance!

It arrived two days ago, and it is now sitting in the study, still completely wrapped up. It has been carried by the DHL man, then by friend Dave, then by husband, and they all did it pretty effortlessly so I am slightly terrified to find it empty. The thought of all those precious letters and memories scattered around somewhere should make me want to open it immediately but…

I think I need a moment, an hour, or two. I will need to unwrap it, open it, and look through it. Be flooded with thoughts and memories of a past self, of past friends and family. It is  a measure of just how busy life has become that I don’t know when I’ll have the time and the emotional aloneness necessary to open up my treasure chest.

Come è curioso, che io aspettassi questo momento sin dal 2006, con entusiasmo e con progressivamente meno speranza, e ora che è finalmente arrivato, io non arrivi a goderne?
Tutta la mia vita è stata in viaggio, spostandomi di paese in continente a regione. Come può essere comprensibile, ho imparato a fare a meno di “beni preziosi”.
Tutto è sempre perso nei traslochi, lasciato a malincuore e deliberatamente, o, nei casi migliori, dato via a qualcuno che avrebbe apprezzato di averli.
Posso contare le cose a cui tenevo davvero, e posso dirvi esattamente cosa è successo loro.

  • Un idolo di pietra verde, con noi dal Sud America (probabilmente del Guatemala) e quindi dalla mia infanzia, è stato accidentalmente rotto dal mio attuale marito nel 2005.
  • Un tiki verde di giada, una scacchiera azteca di onice, un enorme pezzo di ametista e vari altri pezzi “preziosi e di valore” che avevo sempre avuto intorno a me sono stati raccolti da mia cognata, dopo la morte di mia madre.
  • Coperte peruviane, arazzi e altri oggetti da ogni parte del mondo sono finiti da mia sorella. (Loro due avevano “dimora fissa”)
  • Il Mah-Jong, originariamente acquistato in Cina negli anni Settanta, e’ rimasto con me. E’ qui con me ora, a Cambridge.
  • Una serie di splendidi gioielli in argento indiano sono stati persi, o rotti, fatta eccezione per 1 collana che ho dato alla mia amica Daisy, sembrava così perfetta su di lei.
  • Un insieme di diari, appunti e lettere che erano tutta la mia vita sono stati gettati via da mio fratello, quando ha ripulito il garage, quando avevo 17 anni. Non e’ stato un momento felice.
  • Tutte le mie cassette audio, tre sacchi neri dell’immondizia, sono stati metodicamente distrutti dal mio ex marito per stizza.

Quando ci siamo trasferiti dalla nostra casa in Italia, per venire nel Regno Unito, abbiamo lasciato praticamente qualsiasi cosa avessimo. Tutti i libri che avevamo, giochi di società, anche mobili fatti a mano dalle Filippine.

Tuttavia, per tutta la mia vita, c’e’ stato un oggetto da cui non ho mai voluto essere separata (insieme con il set di Mah-Jong), e questa era una cassa di legno ornato, acquistata dai miei genitori negli anni Settanta, in India o in Cina, che fino ai primi anni ’90 ancora aveva l’odore delle spezie che un tempo conteneva. Ho incoraggiato quel profumo, mantenendo le mie cose più preziose: le lettere dei miei amici, le foto, eventuali diari avessi avuto il coraggio di ricominciare, tarocchi e incensi.

Era l’oggetto scomoda e ingombrante che ho sempre trascinato con me, ovunque mi dovessi trasferire. Era il mio baule dei tesori, anche se ha avuto un momento della vita in cui era un contenitore di scarpe.

Amici di mio marito in Italia sono stati così gentili … Avevo chiesto che fosse inviato a mie spese, ma il tempo passava: io capivo che è una seccatura!

E’ arrivato due giorni fa, ed è ora seduto in studio, ancora completamente avvolto. E’ stato “preso in braccio” dall’uomo DHL, poi dall’amico Dave, poi dal marito, e tutti hanno fatto ben poca fatica, quindi sono un po’ terrorizzata di trovarla vuota. Il pensiero di tutte quelle preziose lettere e ricordi sparsi in giro da qualche parte dovrebbero farmi venire voglia di aprire immediatamente, ma …

Penso di aver bisogno di un attimo, un’ora, o due. Ho bisogno di scartarlo, aprirlo e guardarci bene dentro. Essere invaso da pensieri e ricordi di una me passata, di amici e parenti del passato. E ‘una misura di quanto la vita sia diventata occupata che non so quando avrò il tempo e la solitudine emotiva necessaria per aprire il mio scrigno dei tesori.

Leave a Reply

